South Norfolk Community Awards 2019

Community Awards 2019 banner

Our 2019 South Norfolk Community Awards took place on Tuesday 4 June at The Corn Hall, Diss.  

The awards celebrate the valuable contribution volunteers make to the district, whether running a sports club, hosting events, fundraising, or helping around the community.

We received over 70 nominations and struggled to whittle it down to nine winners from all the worthy nominees.  We are pleased to announce the winners of 2019 are:


Tony Vale receiving Volunteer of the Year 2019 award

Volunteer of the Year
Tony Vale

Tony is the founder of Lemon Day in Wymondham, now an annual event to raise money for charity.  Tony is passionate about the local community and is regularly seen in and around Wymondham.  


Poringland and District Men's Shed - community group of the year winners

Community Group of the Year

Sponsored by Eastern Play Services
Poringland and District Men's Shed

The shed is the first Men’s Shed to be established in South Norfolk and provides unique opportunities and a safe environment for men to meet and share skills and experiences.  


Samantha Laurie - Community Wellbeing Champion of the Year winner

Community Wellbeing Champion of the Year 

Sponsored by Whiltshire Farm Foods
Samantha Laurie

Samantha’s enthusiasm for exercise prompted her to set up a successful jogging group in Long Stratton, which has proven to be life changing for so many.  


Chris Lawson - Lifetime Community Hero

Lifetime Community Hero

Sponsored by East of England Funeral Services
Christopher Lawson

Chris’s hard work and dedication to the village of Tharston has been outstanding.  His recent successful events have included open gardens and the annual Tharston fete.  


Hethersett Pantomime Group - Community Fundraiser of the Year

Community Fundraiser of the Year

Sponsored by Orbit Housing 
Hethersett Pantomime Group  

The group started 50 years ago and has been producing and delivering professional family friendly panto every year and raising over £114,000 for good causes.  


Sharon Harkin - Business Community Champion of the Year

Business Community Champion of the Year

Sponsored by Hughes Electrical
Sharon Harkin, East of England Co-op

Sharon gets involved in community projects of all shapes and sizes.  Judges were particularly impressed by her commitment to supporting those living with dementia.


Friends of Swardeston Common - Environmental Champion of the Year

Environmental Champion of the Year

Sponsored by Smurfit Kappa
Friends of Swardeston Common

The group was started by four friends with a shared goal to improve Swardeston Common. Raising funds and recruiting volunteers has led to many improvements in this rural village and has strengthened community values.  


Kieran Murphy - Young Volunteer of the Year

Young Volunteer of the Year

Sponsored by Saffron Housing
Kieran Murphy

Kieran regularly gives up his free time to be a Young Commissioner for the South Norfolk Youth Advisory Board, as well as a Member of the Diss Town Young Council.  


Tristan Cork, Finnbar's Force

Special Recognition Award

Sponsored by Continental Product Engineering
Tristan Cork, Finnbar's Force

Tristan’s exceptional work in creating FinnbarsForce in memory of his son deserved this Special Recognition. 


Special thanks to our 2019 award sponsors:

Community Awards 2019 sponsors