Boundary and polling station reviews

Here you will find all the details about reviews within South Norfolk.

The Boundary Commission for England is currently undertaking a parliamentary boundary review with the aim to keep the number of electors in each constituency broadly equal, whilst also taking into account factors such as local community ties.

Find out more information about the Parliamentary Boundary Review.

The initial proposals for new parliamentary constituency boundaries are now available. The next stage of the review will begin on the 28 February when the boundary commission will publish all representations that were submitted during the first consultation period. The commission are inviting comments on them for four weeks until Monday 27 March 2017. Once they become available the representations can be found here.

Following the secondary consultation, the Commission will be considering all representations received from both consultations, and will consider whether any revisions to the initial proposals are needed. If they decide to revise them, a further consultation period will be announced.

The Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE) has undertaken a district boundary review for South Norfolk. This will change some of our ward boundaries so that each Councillor represents approximately the same number of voters. Implementation of the new boundaries will take place in the 2019 May elections.

Results and a full report can be found on their website.


We are undertaking a community governance review from 20 March until February 2018. This review could change your parish boundary. We will be keeping you up to date with all the information you will need as it becomes available. We will be engaging with our residents and asking for your opinions during two consultation periods.

The first consultation period has now ended and we are preparing our draft proposals. 

You may wish to spend some time looking at current electoral boundaries or guidance on community governance reviews in preparation for your response to the second consultation. View the current council sizes and electorate totals. The Terms of Reference sets out how the review will be undertaken, what will be considered and the options that can be taken.


Review start date 20 March 2017
Consultation 20 March - 12 July
Electoral Arrangements Review Committee 15 August
Draft proposals published 31 August
Consultation 31 August - 27 October
Final recommendations published February 2018

May 2019

To ensure your response to the consultation is fully informed, you may wish to spend some time viewing your new district boundaries which come into effect in 2019, these can be viewed on the maps below. Please note there will also be new parish warding's within Bawburgh, Costessey and Wymondham.

Beck Vale, Dickleburgh & Scole

(Including Parishes of: Brockdish, Dickleburgh & Rushall, Pulham Market, Pulham Mary, Scole,  Starston, Tivetshall St Margaret, Tivetshall St Mary)

Bressingham & Burston

(Including Parishes of: Bressingham, Burston & Shimpling, Gissing, Heywood, Shelfanger, Tibenham, Winfarthing)


(Including Parishes of: Alpington, Bergh Apton, Brooke, Kirstead, Mundham, Seething, Yelverton)


(Including Parishes of: Aslacton, Bunwell, Carleton Rode, Great Moulton)


(Including Parish wards of: New Costessey, Old Costessey, Queen's Hills)


(Including Parishes of: Colney, Cringleford, Keswick)

Diss & Roydon

(Including Parishes of: Diss Town, Roydon)

Ditchingham & Earsham

(Including Parishes of: Alburgh, Bedingham, Broome, Denton, Ditchingham, Earsham, Ellingham, Geldeston, Hedenham, Kirby Cane, Thwaite,  Woodton)


(Including Parishes of: Easton, Great Melton,  Marlingford & Colton)


(Including Parishes of: Forncett, Tacolneston, Tharston & Hapton, Wacton)


(Including Parishes of: Needham, Redenhall with Harleston Town, Wortwell)


(Including Parishes of: Hempnall, Morningthorpe & Fritton, Shelton & Hardwick Tasburgh, Topcroft)


(Including Parishes of: Bawburgh, Hethersett, Little Melton)

Hingham & Deopham

(Including Parishes of: Deopham, Hingham Town)

Loddon & Chedgrave

(Including Parishes of: Chedgrave, Hales, Heckingham, Langley with Hardley, Loddon, Norton Subcourse, Raveningham, Sisland, Stockton)

Mulbarton & Stoke Holy Cross

(Including Parishes of: Ashwellthorpe, Bracon Ash, East Carleton, Flordon, Ketteringham, Mulbarton, Stoke Holy Cross, Swardeston, Wreningham)

Newton Flotman

(Including Parishes of: Howe, Newton Flotman, Saxlingham Nethergate, Shotesham, Swainsthorpe)

Poringland, Framinghams & Trowse

(Including Parishes of: Bixley, Caister St Edmund, Framingham Earl, Framingham Pigot, Poringland, Trowse with Newton)


(Including Parishes of: Ashby St Mary, Bramerton, Carleton St Peter, Claxton, Hellington, Holverston, Kirby Bedon, Rockland St Mary, Surlingham, Thurton)


(Including Parishes of: Long Stratton)


(Including Parishes of: Aldeby, Burgh St Peter, Gillingham, Haddiscoe, Thurlton, Toft Monks, Wheatacre)


(Including Parishes of: Barford,  Barnham Broom, Brandon Parva Coston Runhall & Welborne, Kimberley, Morley, Wicklewood, Wramplingham)


(Including Parish wards of: Central Wymondham, East Wymondham, North Wymondham, South Wymondham)